Bathurst Regional Council area

About the area

Key Statistics


The Bathurst Regional Council area is located in the Central Tablelands of New South Wales, about 200 kilometres west of the Sydney CBD. The Bathurst Regional Council area is bounded by the Mid-Western Regional Council area in the north, Lithgow City and the Oberon Council area in the east, Upper Lachlan Shire in the south, and Cowra Shire, Blayney Shire and the Cabonne Council area in the west.

Included Areas

The Bathurst Regional Council area includes the localities of Abercrombie, Abercrombie River, Arkell, Bald Ridge (part), Bathampton, Bathurst, Billywillinga, Brewongle, Bruinbun, Caloola (part), Charlton (part), Clear Creek, Colo, Copperhannia, Cow Flat, Crudine (part), Curragh, Dunkeld, Duramana, Eglinton, Evans Plains, Fitzgeralds Mount, Fitzgeralds Valley, Forest Grove, Fosters Valley, Freemantle, Gemalla, Georges Plains, Glanmire, Gormans Hill, Gowan (part), Hill End, Kelso, Killongbutta, Kirkconnell, Laffing Waters, Limekilns, Llanarth, Locksley, Meadow Flat, Milkers Flat, Millah Murrah, Mitchell, Mount Panorama, Mount Rankin, Napoleon Reef, O’Connell (part), Orton Park, Paling Yards, Peel, Perthville, Raglan, Robin Hill, Rock Forest, Rockley (part), Rockley Mount, Sallys Flat, Sofala (part), South Bathurst, Stewarts Mount, Sunny Corner, Tambaroora (part), Tannas Mount, Tarana (part), The Lagoon (part), The Rocks, Triangle Flat (part), Trunkey Creek, Turondale, Upper Turon (part), Vittoria (part), Walang, Wambool, Wattle Flat, Watton, West Bathurst, White Rock, Wiagdon, Wimbledon, Winburndale, Windradyne, Wisemans Creek (part), Yarras and Yetholme.

Land Use

The Bathurst Regional Council area is a rural and expanding residential area. Settlement is based in the township of Bathurst, and numerous small villages. The Council area encompasses a total land area of over 3,800 square kilometres. Rural land is used primarily for timber production and agriculture, particularly sheep and cattle grazing, with some orcharding, crop farming and market gardening.

Name Origin

Bathurst is named after Lord Bathurst, Principal Secretary of State for the Colonies.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Bathurst area were the Wiradjuri Aboriginal people.


European settlement dates from 1815, when the town site was proclaimed, with Bathurst being the first inland settlement in New South Wales. Land was used mainly for grazing, orcharding and market gardening. Population was minimal until the 1850s and 1860s when the township of Bathurst and several smaller towns developed, spurred by gold mining. Expansion continued during the 1870s and 1880s, aided by the construction of the railway line from Sydney and further gold discoveries. Growth resumed during the immediate post-war years, then the population stagnated during the 1950s and 1960s. Gradual growth took place from the 1970s, primarily in the township. The population of the Council area continued to steadily increase from the 1990s, with the population increasing from less than 32,000 in 1991 to nearly 39,000 in 2011.

Major Features

Major features of the Council area include Abercrombie Caves, Abercrombie Karst Conservation Reserve, Copperhannia Nature Reserve, Wambool Nature Reserve, Winburndale Nature Reserve, Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit, Charles Sturt University (Bathurst Campus), TAFE NSW Western Institute (Bathurst College), the Bathurst CBD, Bathurst Observatory, Ben Chifley Dam, Australian Fossil and Mineral Museum, National Motor Racing Museum, Rockley Mill Museum, Turon Technology Museum, Bathurst & District Historical Museum, Heritage Park, Bathurst Airport, Bathurst Base Hospital, Abercrombie House, Chifley Home, Hill End Historic Site, History Hill, Miss Traill’s House and Garden, Old Government Cottage, Bathurst Memorial Entertainment Centre, Bathurst Regional Art Gallery, Bathurst Aquatic Centre, Bathurst Golf Club, several wineries, Carrington Park, John Matthews Sporting Complex, Machattie Park, Okhuma Garden, Tyers Park Racecourse, the Macquarie River, Bathurst Correctional Centre, various state forests and several historic villages.


The Bathurst Regional Council area is served by the Great Western Highway, the Mid Western Highway, the Mitchell Highway and the Western railway line.

Bathurst Regional Council

economic profile