City of Brimbank


The City of Brimbank is located in the western and north-western suburbs of Melbourne. The City encompasses a total land area of 123 square kilometres. Brimbank is a growing residential area, with substantial industrial and commercial areas.

Key employment sectors include manufacturing, wholesale trade, construction, transport and warehousing, retail trade, health care and education. Major industrial areas are located in the eastern and southern parts of the City, in the suburbs of Albion, Ardeer, Brooklyn, Deer Park, Derrimut, Kealba, Keilor Park, Sunshine, Sunshine North, Sunshine West and Tullamarine. Brimbank features numerous retail precincts, the major areas being in the suburbs of Sunshine (Sunshine Marketplace and Sunshine Plaza Shopping Centres), St Albans (St Albans Shopping Centre and St Albans Market) and Taylors Lakes (Watergardens Town Centre). Other significant retail centres include Aqua Gardens Shopping Centre, Brimbank Central Shopping Centre, Cairnlea Town Centre, Centro Keilor Shopping Centre, Delahey Village Shopping Centre, Derrimut Village Shopping Centre, Taylors Lakes Shopping Centre and The Avenue Shopping Centre. Health facilities in Brimbank include one major public hospital (Sunshine Hospital) and one private hospital (Western Day Surgery). Victoria University (St Albans and Sunshine Campuses) is located in Brimbank, along with numerous private and public schools.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Calder Freeway
  • Western Ring Road
  • Ballarat Road
  • Sydenham railway line
  • Melbourne-Ballarat railway line
  • Melbourne-Bendigo railway line


  • Melbourne GPO 15km
  • Tullamarine Airport 20km
  • Avalon Airport 50km
  • Essendon Airport 15km
  • Port of Melbourne 17km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Albion (north of Ballarat Road)
  • Ardeer (north of Ballarat Road)
  • Brooklyn
  • Deer Park (east of Station Road)
  • Derrimut (including Gilbertson's Industrial Estate and West Park Industrial Estate)
  • Kealba (Sunshine Quarry)
  • Keilor Park (west of Keilor Park Drive)
  • Sunshine (southern section)
  • Sunshine North
  • Sunshine West (south-eastern section)
  • Tullamarine

City of Brimbank

economic profile