Canberra Region Joint Organisation area

economic profile

crjo logo

Canberra Region


The Canberra Region Joint Organisation Area (Canberra Region) is located in south-eastern New South Wales, to the immediate north, east and south of the Australian Capital Territory. The Canberra Region encompasses a total land area of nearly 52,000 square kilometres, including national parks, nature reserves and state forests. The Canberra Region is predominantly rural, with major townships at Batemans Bay, Bega, Cooma, Crookwell, Goulburn, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan and Yass. Smaller townships include Bemboka, Bermagui, Berridale, Bombala, Boorowa, Braidwood, Bredbo, Bungendore, Candelo, Captains Flat, Cobargo, Delegate, Eden, Gunning, Harden - Murrumburrah, Merimbula, Michelago, Pambula, Pambula Beach, Taralga, Tathra, Tura Beach, Wolumla, Wyndham and Young, along with numerous villages. The Region includes growing residential and rural-residential areas, particularly in the areas closest to Canberra and along the coast.

Key employment sectors in the Canberra Region include retail trade, accommodation and food services, health care, agriculture forestry and fishing, tourism, manufacturing, education and training, public administration and safety, and construction. The main retail centres are Batemans Bay Town Centre (including Village Centre and Bridge Plaza), Bega Town Centre, the Cooma CBD, the Crookwell CBD, Eden Town Centre, the Goulburn CBD (including Goulburn Square Shopping Centre and Goulburn Marketplace Shopping Centre), Merimbula Town Centre, the Moruya township, Narooma Plaza, the Queanbeyan CBD (including Riverside Plaza), the Yass township and the Young CBD. The main health care facilities in the Region are South East Regional Hospital and Goulburn Base Hospital, with smaller hospitals at Batemans Bay, Cooma, Crookwell, Moruya, Murrumburrah-Harden, Pambula, Queanbeyan, Yass and Young, and multi-purpose services at Bombala, Boorowa, Braidwood and Delegate. Rural land is used largely for conservation, timber production and agriculture (particularly sheep and cattle grazing, orcharding and grain growing), with some fishing and viticulture. Tourism is an important industry, with several ski resorts (Charlotte Pass Snow Resort, Perisher Ski Resort and Thredbo Alpine Village) in the south-western areas, and holiday areas along the coast. The Canberra Region is home to numerous national parks and nature reserves, dams, lakes, beaches, rivers, wineries, and natural and man-made attractions. Industrial areas are located in many of the townships; including Bega, Crestwood, Eden, Goulburn, Merimbula, Pambula, Polo Flat, Queanbeyan East, Queanbeyan West, South Pambula and Young. Educational facilities are provided at TAFE NSW Illawarra Institute (Bega, Cooma, Goulburn, Moruya, Queanbeyan and Yass Campuses), TAFE NSW Riverina Institute (Young Campus), University of Wollongong (Bega Campus), NSW Police Force Academy and numerous private and public schools.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Barton Highway
  • Federal Highway
  • Hume Highway
  • Kings Highway
  • Monaro Highway
  • Olympic Highway
  • Princes Highway
  • Snowy Mountains Highway
  • Merimbula Airport
  • Port of Eden
  • Southern Highlands railway line


  • Canberra GPO 10-250km
  • Sydney GPO 100-400km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Bega (north-west)
  • Crestwood (west)
  • Eden (north of township)
  • Eden Wharf
  • Goulburn (several locations)
  • Merimbula (north-west)
  • Pambula (east)
  • Polo Flat
  • Queanbeyan East (north)
  • Queanbeyan West (north-west)
  • South Pambula
  • Young (around Milvale Road)

Canberra Region Joint Organisation area

economic profile