Darebin City CouncilEconomic profile
Skip to content

City of Darebin

About the area

Location and boundaries

The City of Darebin is located in the northern suburbs of Melbourne, between 5 and 15 kilometres north of the Melbourne GPO. The City of Darebin is bounded by the City of Whittlesea in the north, the City of Banyule and Darebin Creek in the east, the City of Yarra in the south, and the City of Moreland and Merri Creek in the west.

Included areas

The City of Darebin includes the suburbs of Alphington (part), Bundoora (part), Fairfield (part), Kingsbury, Macleod (part), Northcote, Preston, Reservoir and Thornbury.

Economic region
City of Darebin

Land use

The City of Darebin is an established residential, industrial, commercial, cultural and educational area, with substantial parklands. The City encompasses a total land area of about 53 square kilometres.


The City of Darebin is served by Bell Street, High Street, Plenty Road, St Georges Road and the Epping and Hurstbridge railway lines.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the late 1830s, with land used mainly for farming and market gardening. Population was minimal until the 1850s. Residential growth took place from the 1880s into the 1920s, spurred by the opening of railway lines and industrial expansion. Significant development occurred during the post-war years, with rapid growth during the 1950s and 1960s, reaching a population of over 150,000 in 1971. The population was relatively stable during the 1990s, and then increased gradually between 2001 and 2011, reaching over 143,000 (ERP) in 2011.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Darebin area were the Wurundjeri-willam Aboriginal people.