Mitchell Shire

About the area

Key Statistics


Mitchell Shire is located in central Victoria, about 30-90 kilometres north of the Melbourne CBD. Mitchell Shire is bounded by the City of Greater Bendigo and Strathbogie Shire in the north, Murrindindi Shire in the east, the City of Whittlesea and Hume City in the south, and Macedon Ranges Shire and Mount Alexander Shire in the west.

Included Areas

Mitchell Shire includes the localities of Avenel (part), Beveridge (part), Broadford, Bylands (part), Clonbinane, Flowerdale (part), Forbes, Glenaroua, Glenhope, Glenhope East, Heathcote Junction, Heathcote South, High Camp, Highlands (part), Hilldene, Kilmore, Kilmore East, Mangalore (part), Mia Mia (part), Moranding, Northwood, Nulla Vale, Puckapunyal, Pyalong, Reedy Creek, Seymour, Sugarloaf Creek, Sunday Creek, Tallarook, Tarcombe (part), Tooborac, Trawool (part), Tyaak, Upper Plenty, Wallan, Wandong, Waterford Park, Whiteheads Creek and Willowmavin.

Land Use

Mitchell Shire is predominantly a rural area but has substantial residential areas in the townships of Beveridge, Broadford, Mitchell Shire is predominantly a rural area, but has substantial urban areas in the townships of Beveridge, Broadford, Heathcote Junction, Kilmore, Pyalong, Seymour, Tallarook, Tooborac, Wallan, Wandong and Waterford Park, and the Puckapunyal Army Base. Seymour is the main business, industrial and population centre in the Shire, followed by Wallan, then Kilmore and Broadford. Most of the rural area is used for agricultural purposes, including beef and wool farming, forestry and timber production, viticulture, olive production and hobby farms. The Shire encompasses a total land area of about 2,860 square kilometres.

Name Origin

Mitchell Shire was named after Major Thomas Mitchell, who explored large areas of New South Wales and Victoria in the 1830s.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of Mitchell Shire were the Taungurung and Wurundjeri Aboriginal people.


European settlement dates from the 1830s, with land used mainly for farming. Townships were established in Kilmore and Seymour in the 1840s. Growth was minimal until the 1860s. Considerable growth occurred during the late 1800s, aided by the gold rush, the opening of the railway line and the establishment of several businesses including timber industries. Some growth took place in the early 1900s. The most significant development occurred in the post-war years, especially from the 1980s. In recent years the Shire has been one of fastest growing municipalities in regional Victoria. Growth has mainly been in the southern section of the Shire closest to Melbourne (Beveridge, Kilmore and Wallan), as more people have opted for living in rural-residential areas or the urban townships. Population growth is expected to continue in this area.

Major Features

Major features of Mitchell Shire include Kinglake National Park, Mount Disappointment State Forest, Tallarook State Forest, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE (Seymour Campus), Tramway Heritage Centre, Puckapunyal Military Area, RAAC Memorial and Army Tank Museum (Puckapunyal), Seymour Railway Heritage Centre, Old Kilmore Gaol, State Motorcycle Sports Complex, the Goulburn River and various wineries.


Mitchell Shire is served by the Hume Freeway, the Northern Highway and the Melbourne to Wodonga railway line.

Mitchell Shire

economic profile