RDA Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island

economic profile

rda-ahfki logo

District of Yankalilla

About the area

Current area:

Key Statistics


The District Council of Yankalilla area is located on the Fleurieu Peninsula of South Australia, about 70 kilometres south of the Adelaide CBD. The District Council of Yankalilla area is bounded by the City of Onkaparinga and the Alexandrina Council area in the north, the City of Victor Harbor in the east, the Southern Ocean in the south, and Gulf St Vincent in the west.

Economic Region

Included Areas

The District Council of Yankalilla area includes the localities of Back Valley (part), Bald Hills, Cape Jervis, Carrickalinga, Deep Creek, Delamere, Hay Flat, Inman Valley (part), Mount Compass (part), Myponga, Myponga Beach, Normanville, Pages Flat (part), Parawa, Rapid Bay, Second Valley, Sellicks Hill (part), Silverton, Torrens Vale, Tunkalilla, Waitpinga (part), Wattle Flat, Willow Creek, Wirrina Cove and Yankalilla.

Land Use

The District Council of Yankalilla area is a rural and rural-residential area, with growing township and holiday areas. Urban development is mainly within the townships of Yankalilla, Normanville and Carrickalinga, with Yankalilla being the main service centre. The District Council encompasses a total land area of about 750 square kilometres, including 86 kilometres of coastline. Land is used largely for agriculture (dairy, beef and sheep farming), with some viticulture and forestry. Tourism is also an important industry, with holiday accommodation mainly in the coastal settlements.

Name Origin

The District Council of Yankalilla is named from an anglicised Aboriginal word for the area meaning "place of the fallen bits".

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the District Council of Yankalilla area were the Kaurna, Ngarrindjeri and Ramindjeri Aboriginal people.


European settlement dates from the late 1830s, with the first townships established in the 1840s. Land was used mainly for agriculture, particularly sheep grazing and crop growing. There was also some mining and timber milling, with transport provided via several jetties. Dairy farming became an important industry. Gradual growth took place from the mid to late 1800s, mainly in the townships. The most significant development occurred from the 1980s. Population growth continued from the 1990s.

Major Features

Major features of the District Council of Yankalilla area include Myponga Reservoir, Deep Creek Conservation Park, Eric Bonython Conservation Park, Myponga Conservation Park, Nixon Skinner Conservation Park, Talisker Conservation Park, Waitpinga Conservation Park, Yulte Conservation Park, Ingalalla Waterfalls, Glacier Rock, the Heysen Trail, ex-HMAS Hobart wreck, The Links Lady Bay Golf Course & Resort, New Terry Hotel & Golf Resort, Yankalilla Golf Club, Cape Jervis Port (Kangaroo Island Ferry), various beaches and several wineries.

RDA Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island

economic profile