RDA Darling Downs and South West Region

economic profile

rda-dd-sw logo

RDA Darling Downs and South West Region


The RDA Darling Downs and South West Region is located in south-east and south-west Queensland. The Region encompasses a total land area of nearly 400,000 square kilometres. The RDA Darling Downs and South West Region is predominantly rural. Rural land is used largely for agriculture. Other important industries include forestry, oil mining and gas production, opal mining and viticulture. The main urban centre is Toowoomba, with small townships at Charleville, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Goondiwindi, Roma, St George, Stanthorpe and Warwick. The Region is also home to numerous smaller townships, including Allora, Amby, Augathella, Bell, Bollon, Chinchilla, Clifton, Crows Nest, Dirranbandi, Eulo, Goombungee, Hebel, Inglewood, Injune, Jackson, Jandowae, Killerney, Miles, Milmerran, Mitchell, Morven, Mungallala, Mungindi, Oakey, Pittsworth, Quilpie, Surat, Tara, Texas, Thallon, Thargomindah, Wallangarra, Wallumbilla, Wandoan, Wyandra, Yangan, Yarraman, Yowah and Yuleba.

Key employment sectors in the RDA Darling Downs and South West Region include agriculture forestry and fishing, health care, retail trade, manufacturing and education. The main agricultural industries are sheep and cattle grazing, and cotton, grain and cereal growing, with some fruit and vegetable growing. Forestry is a significant industry, with numerous state forests in the Region. The major health care facilities in the Region are located in Toowoomba (Toowoomba Base Hospital, Baillie Henderson Hospital, St Vincent's Private Hospital and St Andrew's Toowoomba Hospital). Smaller hospitals are located in the townships of Charleville, Chinchilla, Clifton, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Dirranbandi, Goondiwindi, Jandowae, Miles, Millmerran, Mungindi, Oakey, Roma, St George, Stanthorpe, Tara, Thargomindah and Warwick, with the Charleville Royal Flying Doctor Service and numerous multi-purpose health services also providing important health services. The major retail centre in the Region is the Toowoomba CBD (including Bell Street Mall, Centrepoint on James, Grand Central Shopping Centre, Hooper Centre and Market Plaza). Other significant retail areas include Clifford Gardens Shopping Centre in Newtown, Market Square in Wilsonton and Toowoomba Plaza in Kearneys Spring, the townships of Cecil Plains, Charleville, Chinchilla (including Chinchilla Central Shopping Centre), Cunnamulla, Dalby (including Dalby Shoppingworld), Goondiwindi, Millmerran, Roma, St George and Warwick (including Rose City Shoppingworld), and numerous smaller centres. The Region is home to various mines, oil and gas fields and power stations (including Ballera Gas Centre, Eromanga Basin, Jackson Oil Field, Kogan Creek Mine, New Acland Coal Mine, Kogan Creek Power Station and Millmerran Power Station). Educational facilities are provided at TAFE Queensland South West (Chinchilla, Dalby, Roma, Toowoomba and Warwick Campuses), University of Southern Queensland (Toowoomba Campus, Queensland College of Wine Tourism and USQHub@Stanthorpe) and numerous schools.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Balonne Highway
  • Barwon Highway
  • Carnarvon Highway
  • Castlereagh Highway
  • Cunningham Highway
  • Daguilar Highway
  • Gore Highway
  • Landsborough Highway
  • Leichhardt Highway
  • Mitchell Highway
  • Moonie Highway
  • New England Highway
  • Newell Highway
  • Warrego Highway
  • Toowoomba Airport
  • Westlander train


  • Brisbane CBD 125-1,000 km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Charleville township (south of Warrego Highway)
  • Chinchilla township (east of Auburn Road, and around Cooper Street)
  • Cunnamulla township (west of Mary Street)
  • Dalby township (various locations)
  • Drayton (north-eastern section)
  • Goondiwindi township (around Racecourse Road and around Riddle Street)
  • Harlaxton (southern section)
  • Harristown (western section)
  • Injune township (various locations)
  • Miles township (south of McNulty Street)
  • Morgan Park (around Kenilworth Street)
  • Quilpie township (west of Sommerfield Road)
  • Rockville (eastern section)
  • Roma township (various locations)
  • South Toowoomba (northern section)
  • St George (around the airport)
  • Stanthorpe township (south of Texas Road)
  • Thargomindah Hydro Power Plant
  • Toowoomba City (southern section)
  • Torrington (eastern section)
  • Wandoan township (around North Street)
  • Warwick township (around East Street)
  • Wilsonton (western section)

RDA Darling Downs and South West Region

economic profile