RDA Limestone Coast RegionEconomic profile
Skip to content

RDA Limestone Coast Region

About the area

Name origin

The Tatiara District Council area is named from an Aboriginal word meaning “good country”.

Location and boundaries

The Tatiara District Council area is located in the Limestone Coast Region of South Australia, about 200 kilometres south-east of the Adelaide CBD. The Tatiara District Council area is bounded by the Southern Mallee District Council area in the north, the Victorian border and West Wimmera Shire in the east, the Naracoorte Lucindale Council area in the south, and the Kingston District Council area and the Coorong District Council area in the west.

Included areas

The Tatiara District Council area includes the localities of Bangham, Bordertown, Bordertown South, Brimbago, Buckingham, Cannawigara, Carew, Custon, Keith, Kongal, Laffer, Lowan Vale, Makin, McCallum, Mount Charles, Mundulla, Mumdulla West, Ngarkat (part), Padthaway, Petherick, Pine Hill, Pooginagoric, Senior, Shaugh, Sherwood, Swede Flat, Western Flat, Willalooka, Wirrega and Wolseley.

Economic region
Tatiara District Council area

Land use

The Tatiara District Council area is predominantly rural, with small townships at Bordertown and Keith, and villages at Mundulla, Padthaway and Wolseley. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 6,500 square kilometres. Rural land is used largely for agricultural and pastoral purposes, particularly grain growing and sheep, cattle and pig farming, with some viticulture.


The Tatiara District Council area is served by the Dukes Highway, the Ngarkat Highway and the Riddoch Highway.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1846, with land used initially for grazing. The township of Bordertown was established in 1852. Considerable growth took place from the 1870s to the early 1900s when several other townships were established, aided by the opening of the railway line in the 1880s and wheat growing. Population growth took place during the post-war years, spurred by the soldier settlement scheme at Padthaway and the AMP Insurance Company’s funding of development to convert bushland into farmland at Bordertown and Keith. Several wineries were established in and around Padthaway from the 1960s. The population fluctuated slightly during the 1990s, and then declined slightly from about 6,800 in 2001 to about 6,500 in 2011.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Tatiara District Council area were the Cannawigra, Tatiara and Wirrega Aboriginal people.