RDA Murraylands and Riverland

economic profile

rda-murraylands-riverland logo

Coorong District Council area

About the area

Current area:

Key Statistics


The Coorong District Council area is located in the Murraylands Region of South Australia, about 180 kilometres south-east of the Adelaide CBD. The Coorong District Council area is bounded by the Rural City of Murray Bridge and the District Council of Karoonda East Murray area in the north, the Southern Malllee District Council area in the east, the Tatiara District Council area and the Kingston District Council area in the south, and the Southern Ocean and the Alexandrina Council area in the west.

Included Areas

The Coorong District Council area includes the localities of Ashville, Bunbury, Carcuma, Colebatch, Cooke Plains, Coomandook, Coombe, Coonalpyn, Coorong, Culburra, Deepwater, Elwomple, Field, Jabuk (part), Ki Ki, Lake Alexandrina (part), Malinong, Meningie, Meningie East, Meningie West, Moorlands, Narrung, Naturi (part), Netherton, Ngarkat (part), Peake, Poltalloch, Salt Creek, Sherlock, Tailem Bend, Tintinara, Waltowa, Wellington East and Yumali.

Land Use

The Coorong District Council area is predominantly rural, with small townships at Coonalpyn, Meningie, Tailem Bend and Tintinara, and numerous smaller settlements. Land is used largely for agriculture, particularly grain growing and dairy farming, with some sheep grazing. Fishing is also an important industry. The Council area encompasses a total land area of nearly 9,000 square kilometres.

Name Origin

Coorong District Council is named after an early property in the area, which was named from an Aboriginal word meaning "the neck".

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Coorong District Council area were the Ngarrindjeri Aboriginal people.


European settlement of the area dates from the 1830s, with land used mainly for sheep and cattle grazing. Commercial fishing was established in the 1840s. Growth took place from the late 1800s into the early 1900s, spurred by the opening of the railway line in 1886 and river trade. Coorong National Park was established in 1966. The population declined marginally from the 1960s, falling from about 7,000 in 1961 to about 6,700 in 1986. The population continued to decline gradually from the early 1990s, falling from about 6,300 in 1991 to about 5,400 in 2011, largely due to a decline in dwelling occupancy rates.

Major Features

Major features of the Council area include Coorong National Park, The Coorong, Lake Albert, Lake Alexandrina, the Murray River, Carcuma Conservation Park, Martin Washpool Conservation Park, Messent Conservation Park, Mount Boothby Conservation Park, Mount Rescue Conservation Park, Ngarkat Conservation Park, Poonthie Ruwi - Riverdale Conservation Park, Salt Lagoon Islands Conservation Park, Mud Islands Game Reserve, Bunbury Conservation Reserve, Younghusband Peninsula, Old Tailem Town, Meningie Cheese Factory Museum, Tailem Bend Railway Museum, Coorong Art Gallery, Camp Coorong, The Bend Motorsport Park, Lake Albert Golf Club, Tailem Bend Golf Club, Tintinara DiscGolfPark, Point Malcolm Lighthouse, Meningie and Districts Memorial Hospital, Tailem Bend District Hospital, Pangarinda Botanic Garden and various beaches.


The Coorong District Council area is served by the Dukes Highway, the Mallee Highway and the Princes Highway.

RDA Murraylands and Riverland

economic profile