RDA Murraylands and RiverlandEconomic profile
Skip to content

RDA Murraylands and Riverland region

About the area

Location and boundaries

The Mid Murray Council area is located in the Murraylands Region of South Australia, about 80 kilometres north-east of the Adelaide CBD. The Mid Murray Council area is bounded by Unincorporated South Australia in the north, the District Council of Loxton Waikerie area and the District Council of Karoonda East Murray area in the east, the Rural City of Murray Bridge and the District Council of Mount Barker area in the south, and the Adelaide Hills Council area, the Barossa Council area, the Light Regional Council area and the Regional Council of Goyder area in the west.

Included areas

The Mid Murray Council area includes the localities of Angas Valley, Annadale, Apamurra, Beatty, Beaumonts, Big Bend, Birdwood (part), Black Hill, Blanchetown, Bolto, Bower (part), Bowhill (part), Brenda Park, Brownlow (part), Burdett (part), Cadell, Cadell Lagoon, Caloote (part), Cambrai, Caurnamont, Claypans, Cowirra, Dutton (part), Dutton East, Eba, Eden Valley (part), Fisher, Five Miles, Forster, Frahns, Frankton (part), Frayville, Julanka Holdings, Keyneton, Lake Carlet, Langs Landing, Lindley, Mannum, Marks Landing, Maude, McBean Pound, Milendella, Morgan, Morphetts Flat, Mount Mary, Mount Pleasant (part), Mount Torrens (part), Murbko (part), Nildottie, North West Bend, Palmer, Pellaring Flat, Pompoota, Ponde, Port Mannum, Punthari, Punyelroo, Purnong, Rockleigh (part), Rocky Point, Sanderston, Sandleton, Sedan, Springton (part), Steinfeld (part), Stuart, Sunnydale, Swan Reach, Taylorville (part), Teal Flat, Tepko (part), Towitta, Truro (part), Tungkillo, Walker Flat, Wall Flat (part), Wombats Rest, Wongulla, Younghusband, Younghusband Holdings and Zadows Landing.

Economic region
Mid Murray Council area

Land use

The Mid Murray Council area is predominantly rural, with several small townships. Land is used largely for agriculture and horticulture, particularly sheep grazing, cereal cropping and dairy farming. The main township is Mannum, with numerous smaller settlements including Blanchetown, Cadell, Mannum, Morgan, Swan Reach and Truro. The Council area encompasses a total land area of nearly 6,300 square kilometres, including significant waterway areas.


The Mid Murray Council area is served by the Sturt Highway.

Settlement history

European settlement of the area dates from the 1830s, with land used mainly for cattle grazing. Population was minimal until the 1850s, with Mannum and Swan Reach developing as river ports on the Murray River. Growth took place from the mid to the late 1800s, when sheep grazing and cereal growing became the main industries. The population of the Council area increased slightly during the 1990s, rising from about 7,800 in 1991 to 8,400 in 2001. The population then declined slightly to about 8,000 in 2006, and was relatively stable to 2011.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Mid Murray Council area were the Nganguraku Aboriginal people.