RDA Yorke and Mid North Region

economic profile

rda-yorke-mid-north logo

Copper Coast Council area

About the area

Current area:

Key Statistics


The Copper Coast Council area is located in the Yorke and Mid North Region of South Australia, about 150 kilometres north-west of the Adelaide CBD. The Copper Coast Council area is bounded by the Barunga West Council area in the north and east, the Yorke Peninsula Council area in the south, and Spencer Gulf in the west.

Economic Region

Included Areas

The Copper Coast Council area includes the localities of Boors Plain, Cross Roads, Cunliffe, East Moonta, Hamley, Jericho, Jerusalem, Kadina, Kooroona, Matta Flat, Moonta, Moonta Bay, Moonta Mines, New Town, North Beach, North Moonta, North Yelta, Paramatta, Paskeville (part), Port Hughes, Thrington, Tickera (part), Wallaroo, Wallaroo Mines, Wallaroo Plain, Warburto, Willamulka (part) and Yelta.

Land Use

The Copper Coast Council area is predominantly rural, with townships at Kadina, Moonta and Wallaroo. Smaller towns and settlements include Moonta Bay, North Beach, Paskeville and Port Hughes. Rural land is used largely for farming, particularly agriculture (wheat and barley growing and grazing). Other important industries include fishing, extractive industries (limestone, granite, dolomite, gypsum, copper and sand mining) and tourism. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 770 square kilometres.

Name Origin

The Copper Coast Council is named to describe the area – with coastal areas and a copper mining history.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Copper Coast Council were the Narungga Aboriginal people.


European settlement of the area dates from the 1840s, with land used initially for sheep grazing, and then for grain growing from the 1860s. Population was minimal until 1859, following copper discoveries at Moonta and Wallaroo. Rapid growth took place during the 1860s and 1870s, particularly in and around Kadina, Moonta and Wallaroo as townships were established, spurred by copper mining. Growth continued during the late 1800s and early 1900s, aided by the opening of the railway line from in 1878. The main mines closed in 1923, causing the population to decline, although small scale mining continued intermittently. The population has gradually increased over recent years, with growth expected to continue.

Major Features

Major features of the Council area include Bird Islands Conservation Park, various beaches, The Farm Shed Museum and Tourism Centre, Wallaroo Heritage and Nautical Museum, Moonta Mines Museum, Moonta Mines State Heritage Area, Moonta Tourist Railway, TAFE SA Kadina Campus, Wallaroo Hospital, Copper Coast Sport and Leisure Centre, Copperclub Golf Club, Kadina Golf Club, Moonta Golf Club, Wallaroo Golf Club and Wallaroo Jetty.


The Copper Coast Council area is served by the Copper Coast Highway, the Spencer Highway and Wallaroo Port.

RDA Yorke and Mid North Region

economic profile