RDA Yorke and Mid North Region

economic profile

rda-yorke-mid-north logo

Regional Council of Goyder

About the area

Current area:

Key Statistics


The Regional Council of Goyder area is located in the Yorke and Mid North Region of South Australia, about 160 kilometres north of the Adelaide CBD. The Regional Council of Goyder area is bounded by the District Council of Peterborough area in the north, Unincorporated South Australia and the Mid Murray Council area in the east, the Light Regional Council area in the south, and the Clare & Gilbert Valleys Council area and the Northern Areas Council area in the west.

Economic Region

Included Areas

The Regional Council of Goyder area includes the localities of Apoinga, Australia Plains, Baldina, Booborowie, Bower, Brady Creek, Bright, Brownlow (part), Buchanan, Bundey, Burra, Burra Eastern Districts, Canowie, Canowie Belt (part), Collinsville, Dutton (part), Emu Downs, Eudunda, Farrell Flat (part), Franklyn, Frankton (part), Geranium Plains, Gum Creek, Hallelujah Hills, Hallett, Hampden, Hansborough (part), Hanson, Julia, Koonoona, Leighton, Mongolata, Mount Bryan, Mount Bryan East, Neales Flat, Ngapala, North Booborowie, Peep Hill, Pine Creek, Point Pass, Porter Lagoon, Robertstown, Rocky Plain, Steinfeld (part), Sutherlands, Terowie, Ulooloo, Whyte Yarcowie, Willalo, Wonna and Worlds End.

Land Use

The Regional Council of Goyder area is predominantly rural, with a township at Burra, a smaller township at Eudunda, and villages and small settlements at Booborowrie, Farrell Flat, Hallett, Mount Bryan, Point Pass, Robertstown, Terowie and Whyte Yarcowie. Rural land is used largely for agriculture, particularly cereal crops and sheep grazing, with some cattle grazing and power generation. Tourism is also an important industry. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 6,700 square kilometres.

Name Origin

The Regional Council of Goyder is named after Surveyor General George Woodroffe Goyder, who mapped “Goyder’s Line” through the area in 1865.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Regional Council of Goyder area were the Ngadjuri Aboriginal people.


European settlement of the area dates from the 1840s, with land used mainly for grazing. Copper discoveries were made in 1845 in Burra, prompting the establishment of copper mining and significant growth in the township. Mining ceased in 1877, causing a significant population decline in the Burra township. Growth took place in the wider area from the mid to late 1800s as many small townships were established, aided by the opening of the railway line. The main industry then became wheat growing. The Hallett Wind Farms were established near the towns of Burra and Hallett from 2008. The population of the Council area has been relatively stable in recent years.

Major Features

Major features of the Council area include Caroona Creek Conservation Park, Mokota Conservation Park, Pandappa Conservation Park, Red Banks Conservation Park, Burra Creek Gorge, Burra State Heritage Area, Bon Accord Mine Complex, Burra Mine Open Air Museum, Market Square Museum, Morphett’s Enginehouse Museum, Burra Regional Art Gallery, Eudunda Family Heritage Gallery, Burra Hospital, Eudunda Hospital, Burra Golf Club, Eudunda Golf Club, Hallett Wind Farms, Hallett Power Station, Porter Lagoon, the Heysen Trail and the Mawson Trail.


The Regional Council of Goyder area is served by the Barrier Highway, the Goyder Highway and the Worlds End Highway.

RDA Yorke and Mid North Region

economic profile