Scenic Rim Regional Council

economic profile

scenic-rim logo

Scenic Rim Regional Council


The Scenic Rim Regional Council area is located in south-east Queensland. The Council area encompasses a total land area of about 4,250 square kilometres. The Scenic Rim Regional Council area is predominantly rural, with most of the population living in the townships and villages of Aratula, Beaudesert, Beechmont, Boonah, Canungra, Harrisville, Kalbar, Kooralbyn, Peak Crossing, Rathdowney and Tamborine Mountain (including Eagle Heights and Mount Tamborine). The largest towns are Beaudesert and Boonah. Rural land is used largely for agriculture and horticulture, with equine activities and tourism also being important industries.

Key employment sectors in the Scenic Rim Regional Council area include health care, agriculture forestry and fishing, education, construction, retail trade and accommodation and food services. The main health care facilities are Beaudesert Hospital and Boonah Health Service. Agricultural activities are focussed on beef and dairy cattle and grain growing, with some pig farming and vegetable growing. Educational facilities are provided at numerous schools. The main retail areas are located in the townships of Beaudesert (including the Beaudesert CBD, Beaudesert Central Shopping Centre and Beaudesert Fair Shopping Centre) and Boonah (the Boonah CBD), with other significant retail areas at Tamborine Mountain (The Mountain Centre and Gallery Walk). Tourism is an important industry, with numerous accommodation places (including Binna Burra Lodge, O'Reillys Rainforest Retreat and Ramada Resort), and many tourist attractions, including various National Parks, waterfalls, wineries and vineyards, galleries, Thunderbird Park, Tamborine Rainforest Skywalk and Tamborine Mountain Glow Worm Caves.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Cunningham Highway
  • Mount Lindesay Highway


  • Brisbane CBD 70-100km
  • Brisbane Airport 70-100km
  • Port of Brisbane 70-120km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Beaudesert (around Enterprise Drive)

Scenic Rim Regional Council

economic profile