Douglas Shire Council


Douglas Shire is located in Far North Queensland. The Shire encompasses a total land area of about 2,400 square kilometres. Douglas Shire includes significant areas of national park, rural areas and growing urban areas. The main townships are Mossman and Port Douglas, with smaller townships at Cooya Beach, Newell and Wonga. Urban areas include residential, commercial, tourist and industrial land uses. Rural land is used predominantly for sugar cane farming, with some cattle grazing and tropical fruit growing.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Captain Cook Highway


  • Brisbane CBD 1,800km
  • Townsville CBD 400km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Craiglie (south-west)
  • Mossman (Mossman Central Mill and south)

Douglas Shire Council

economic profile