City of Cockburn

About the area

Key Statistics


The City of Cockburn is located in Perth’s outer southern suburbs, about 15-20 kilometres from the Perth CBD. The City of Cockburn is bounded by the Cities of Fremantle, Melville and Canning in the north, the City of Armadale in the east, the City of Kwinana in the south, and the Indian Ocean in the west. The City of Cockburn includes Rottnest Island and Carnac Island, located about 10 and 18 kilometres off-shore respectively.

Included Areas

The City of Cockburn includes the suburbs of Atwell, Aubin Grove, Banjup, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Cockburn Central, Coogee, Coolbellup, Hamilton Hill, Hammond Park, Henderson, Jandakot, Leeming (part), Munster, North Coogee, North Lake, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup and Yangebup.

Land Use

The City of Cockburn is a growing residential area, with substantial rural-residential areas, significant industrial areas and some commercial areas. Much of the rural land is used for market gardening and hobby farming, with some ship building and limestone quarrying. The City encompasses a total land area of about 170 square kilometres, including lakes, beaches and parkland.

Name Origin

Cockburn is named after Cockburn Sound, which was named after Admiral Sir George Cockburn.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Cockburn area were the Noongar Aboriginal people.


European settlement dates from 1829, although population was minimal until the 1870s. Gradual residential and industrial growth took place from the late 1800s into the early 1900s, especially in the north-western suburbs. Growth was spurred by the discovery of gold in Western Australia and the rapid development of neighbouring Fremantle. Several small rural communities were established, with land used mainly for market gardening, dairy farming and orcharding. Significant residential development did not occur until the post-war years, aided by public housing construction, with growth particularly in Coolbellup, Hamilton Hill, Spearwood and Yangebup. The population of the City increased from about 3,000 in 1947 to about 7,000 in 1961, and then to about 29,000 in 1976. Rapid growth took place from the 1980s, especially in the southern suburbs, aided by the extension of the Kwinana Freeway, with further growth in areas such as Spearwood and Yangebup, and the development of Coogee and Bibra Lake. The population increased to about 41,000 by 1986. In the 1990s, areas such as Atwell and Beeliar commenced development and, more recently, Success and Aubin Grove. The population increased from about 50,000 in 1991 to about 66,000 in 2001, and then to about 88,000 in 2011. Population growth is expected to continue, especially in Aubin Grove, Hammond Park, Coogee, North Coogee, Success and Beeliar.

Major Features

Major features of the City include Rottnest Island, Carnac Island, Beeliar Regional Park, Jandakot Regional Park, Woodman Point Regional Park, Banganup Lake, Bibra Lake, Manning Lake, North Lake, Thomsons Lake (Jilbup Lake), Yangebup Lake, Lake Coogee, Coogee Beach, C Y O’Connor Beach, Bibra Lake Reserve, Manning Park, Manning Lake Bushland, Thomsons Lake Nature Reserve, Market Garden Swamps, Harry Waring Marsupial Reserve, Cockburn Central Town Centre, Cockburn Gateway Shopping Centre, Lakes Centre Shopping Centre, Phoenix Shopping Centre, Adventure World, Glen Iris Public Golf Course, Australian Marine Complex, South Lake Leisure Centre, Success Regional Sporting Facility, Murdoch Pines Golf and Recreation Park, Cockburn Ice Arena, Cockburn International Raceway, Azelia Lay Homestead Museum, the Coogee Marina (Port Coogee), Jervoise Bay Boat Harbour, Cockburn Wetlands Education Centre and Challenger Institute of Technology (Henderson and Acept - Munster Campuses).


The City of Cockburn is served by the Kwinana Freeway, the Roe Highway, Armadale Road, Rockingham Road, Stock Road, the Mandurah railway line and Jandakot Airport.

City of Cockburn

economic profile