Kempsey Shire


Kempsey Shire is located on the Mid North Coast of New South Wales. The Shire encompasses a total land area of nearly 3,400 square kilometres. Kempsey Shire is a predominantly rural area, with numerous inland and coastal townships. The largest town is Kempsey, with smaller townships at Crescent Head, Frederickton, Gladstone, Hat Head, Smithtown, South West Rocks and Stuarts Point, and small villages at Bellbrook, Grassy Head, Jerseyville, Kinchela, Kundabung and Willawarrin. Rural land is used largely for dairy farming and timber production, with tourism, horticulture and fishing also being important industries.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Pacific Highway
  • Kempsey airport
  • North coast railway line


  • Sydney CBD 400km
  • Brisbane CBD 400km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • South Kempsey

Kempsey Shire

economic profile