Tamworth Regional Council


The Tamworth Regional Council area is located in the New England Region of north-western New South Wales. The Council area encompasses a total land area of over 9,600 square kilometres. The Tamworth Regional Council area includes the urban centre of Tamworth and the surrounding predominantly rural area. Most of the rural area is used for agriculture. The majority of the population live in the urban centre of Tamworth. About one quarter of the population lives in the small townships of Barraba, Kootingal, Manilla and Nundle, the villages of Attunga, Bendemeer, Dungowan, Duri, Moonbi, Somerton, Woolbrook and Woolomin, and various rural localities.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • New England Highway
  • Oxley Highway
  • Tamworth Regional Airport
  • North Western railway line


  • Sydney GPO 410km
  • Brisbane GPO 580km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Taminda - including Taminda Industrial Estate
  • Westdale - including Glen Artney Industrial Estate and around the airport

Tamworth Regional Council

economic profile