Hilltops Council area

About the area

Key Statistics

Initial Note

Note: This profile applies to the boundaries of the Hilltops Council area as proclaimed on 12 May 2016. The Hilltops Council area incorporates the three former municipalities of Boorowa Council, Harden Shire and Young Shire.


The Hilltops Council area is located in the Southern Tablelands of New South Wales, about 240-380 kilometres south-west of the Sydney CBD, and about 120-160 kilometres north-west of the Canberra CBD. The Hilltops Council area is bounded by Weddin Shire and Cowra Shire in the north, Upper Lachlan Shire in the east, the Yass Valley Council area in the south-east, the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council area in the south-west, and Temora Shire in the north-west.

Included Areas

The Hilltops Council area includes the localities of Barwang, Beggan Beggan, Bendick Murrell, Berremangra (part), Berthong, Boorowa, Bribbaree (part), Bulla Creek, Burrangong, Cooneys Creek, Crowther, Cunningar, Frogmore, Galong, Godfreys Creek, Harden, Hovells Creek, Jugiong, Kikiamah, Kingsvale, Koorawatha (part), Maimuru, McMahons Reef, Memagong, Milvale (part), Monteagle, Morangarell (part), Mount Collins, Murringo, Murrumburrah, Nubba, Reids Flat, Rugby, Rye Park, Taylors Flat, Thuddungra, Tubbul, Weedallion, Wirrimah, Wombat, Wyangala (part) and Young.

Land Use

The Hilltops Council area is predominantly rural, with several townships which include residential, commercial and industrial areas. Settlement is based mainly in the small townships of Boorowa, Harden - Murrumburrah and Young, and the villages of Bendick Murrell, Bribbaree, Frogmore, Galong, Jugiong, Koorawatha, Monteagle, Murringo, Reids Flat, Rugby, Rye Park and Wombat. The Council area encompasses a total land area of over 7,100 square kilometres. Rural land is used mainly for sheep and cattle grazing, grain growing and orcharding (particularly cherries), with viticulture and limestone mining also being important industries.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Hilltops Council area were the Wiradjuri Aboriginal people.


European settlement of the area dates from the late 1820s, with land used mainly for sheep and cattle grazing. Population was minimal until the 1860s, when gold mining was established. Growth took place during the late 1800s and into the early 1900s, aided by the opening of railway lines. Grain growing (particularly wheat) and fruit growing then became important industries. The population of the Council area increased marginally from the early 1990s, rising from about 17,000 in 1991 to nearly 18,000 in 2011, with most of this growth being in and around the township of Young.

Major Features

Major features of the Council area include Lake Wyangala, Bendick Murrell National Park, Dananbilla Nature Reserve, Koorawatha Nature Reserve, the Boorowa River, the Murrumbidgee River, Boorowa District Hospital, Murrumburrah-Harden Hospital, Young District Hospital, Mercy Care Centre Young, TAFE NSW Riverina Institute (Young Campus), Boorowa Historical Museum, Lambing Flat Folk Museum, The Gold Trails Experience Museum, Glenara Gallery, St. Clement's Retreat & Conference Centre, Young Aquatic Centre, Lambing Flat Chinese Tribute Garden, Blackguard Gully Reserve, Boorowa Memorial Park, Boorowa Recreation Park, Chinaman’s Dam Reserve, George Coddington Park, McLean Oval, Roberts Park, Sibelco Lime Mine, Young State Forest and numerous wineries.


The Hilltops Council area is served by the Hume Highway, the Olympic Highway, Burley Griffin Way, Lachlan Valley Way and the Melbourne-Sydney railway line.

Hilltops Council area

economic profile