RDA Murraylands and Riverland

economic profile

rda-murraylands-riverland logo

RDA Murraylands and Riverland region


The RDA Murraylands and Riverland Region is located in central-east South Australia. The Region includes the eight local government areas of Berri Barmera Council, Coorong District Council, District Council of Karoonda East Murray, District Council of Loxton Waikerie, Mid Murray Council, Rural City of Murray Bridge, Renmark Paringa Council and Southern Mallee District Council. The Region encompasses a total land area of about 36,000 square kilometres. The RDA Murraylands and Riverland Region is predominantly rural, with townships at Barmera, Berri, Loxton, Mannum, Murray Bridge, Renmark and Waikerie. The Region is home to numerous smaller townships and settlements, including Blanchetown, Cadell, Callington, Cobdogla, Coonalpyn, Glossop, Jervois, Karoonda, Kingston on Murray, Lameroo, Loveday, Lyrup, Mannum, Meningie, Moorook, Morgan, Mypolonga, Paringa, Pinnaroo, Swan Reach, Tailem Bend, Tintinara, Truro, Wellington, Woodland and Woods Point. Land is used largely for agriculture, horticulture and viticulture.

The key employment sector in the RDA Murraylands and Riverland Region is agriculture forestry and fishing, with other significant employment sectors being manufacturing, retail trade, health care and education. Agricultural pursuits in the Region are focussed mainly on grain growing, wool production, dairy farming and fruit, citrus and grape growing, with some nut, berry and vegetable growing. The main industrial areas are located in the townships of Berri, Loxton and Murray Bridge. Retail areas in the Region are concentrated in the townships of Murray Bridge (including Murray Bridge Marketplace), Berri (including Riverland Central Plaza Shopping Centre) and Renmark (including Renmark Square Shopping Centre), with smaller retail areas in the townships of Barmera, Coonalpyn, Loxton, Mannum, Tailem Bend, Tintinara and Waikerie. The Region is home to numerous small hospitals and health services, including Barmera Health Service, Karoonda and District Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital, Lameroo District Health Service, Loxton Hospital, Mannum District Hospital, Meningie and Districts Memorial Hospital, Pinnaroo Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital, Renmark Paringa District Hospital, Riverland General Hospital, Tailem Bend District Hospital and Waikerie Health Service. Educational facilities are provided at TAFE SA (Berri and Murray Bridge Campuses), Flinders University (School of Nursing & Midwifery Campus Renmark) and numerous primary and secondary schools.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • South Eastern Freeway
  • Dukes Highway
  • Karoonda Highway
  • Mallee Highway
  • Princes Highway
  • Sturt Highway


  • Adelaide CBD 40-250km
  • Adelaide Airport 80-250km
  • Port Adelaide 90-250km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Berri (around Hughes Street)
  • Loxton (east of the railway line)
  • Murray Bridge (various locations)
  • Murray Bridge East (along Old Princes Highway)

RDA Murraylands and Riverland

economic profile