Upper Lachlan Shire


Upper Lachlan Shire is located in the Southern Tablelands Region of New South Wales. The Shire encompasses a total land area of about 7,100 square kilometres. Upper Lachlan Shire is predominantly rural, with settlement based mainly in the township of Crookwell, the smaller townships of Gunning and Taralga, and the villages and centres of Bigga, Binda, Breadalbane, Collector, Dalton, Grabben Gullen, Jerrawa, Laggan and Tuena. Rural land is used mainly for agriculture.

The key employment sector in the Upper Lachlan Shire is agriculture, forestry and fishing, with nearly half the population employed in this industry. The main agricultural industries are sheep and cattle grazing, with potato growing, viticulture and alpaca raising also being important industries.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Hume Highway
  • Federal Highway
  • Melbourne-Sydney railway line


  • Canberra GPO 140km
  • Sydney GPO 240km

Upper Lachlan Shire

economic profile