Kyogle Council area

About the area

Key Statistics


The Kyogle Council area is located in the Northern Rivers Region of northern New South Wales, about 760 kilometres north of the Sydney CBD, and 180 kilometres south of the Brisbane CBD. The Kyogle Council area is bounded by the Queensland border and the Scenic Rim Regional Council area in the north, Tweed Shire, Lismore City and the Richmond Valley Council area in the east, the Clarence Valley Council area in the south, and Tenterfield Shire in the west.

Included Areas

The Kyogle Council area includes the localities of Afterlee, Babyl Creek, Barkers Vale, Bean Creek, Bentley (part), Bingeebeebra, Bonalbo, Boomi Creek, Boorabee Park, Border Ranges, Bottle Creek, Brumby Plains, Cambridge Plateau, Capeen Creek, Cawongla, Cedar Point, Collins Creek, Cougal, Culmuran Creek, Dairy Flat, Deep Creek, Dobies Bight (part), Doubtful Creek, Duck Creek, Dyraaba, Edenville, Eden Creek, Ettrick, Fawcetts Plain, Findon Creek, Geneva, Ghinni Ghi, Gorge Creek, Gradys Creek, Green Pigeon, Grevillia, Haystack, Hogarth Range (part), Homeleigh, Horseshoe Creek, Horse Station Creek, Iron Pot Creek, Jacksons Flat, Joes Box, Kilgra, Kyogle, Larnook (part), Lillian Rock, Lindesay Creek, Little Back Creek, Loadstone, Lower Bottle Creek, Lower Duck Creek, Lower Dyraaba, Lower Peacock, Lynchs Creek, Mallanganee, Muli Muli, Mummulgum, New Park, Old Bonalbo, Old Grevillia, Paddys Flat, Pagans Flat, Peacock Creek, Piora (part), Roseberry, Roseberry Creek, Rukenvale, Sandilands, Sawpit Creek, Sextonville, Sherwood, Simpkins Creek, Smiths Creek, Stony Chute (part), Tabulam (part), Terrace Creek, The Glen, The Risk, Theresa Creek, Tooloom, Toonumbar, Tunglebung, Unumgar, Upper Duck Creek, Upper Eden Creek, Upper Horseshoe Creek, Urbenville (part), Wadeville, Warrazambil Creek, West Wiangaree, Wiangaree, Woodenbong (part), Woolners Arm, Wyneden and Yabbra.

Land Use

The Kyogle Council area is a rural and rural-residential area. The largest township is Kyogle, with smaller settlements at Bonalbo, Cawongla, Geneva, Mallanganee, Mummulgum, Old Bonalbo, Tabulam, Wiangaree and Woodenbong. The Kyogle Council area encompasses a total land area of 3,600 square kilometres, including national parks and rainforest. Rural land is used largely for dairy and beef farming and timber production, with some vegetable and grain growing.

Name Origin

Kyogle Council is named from an Aboriginal word meaning "the place of the bush turkey" or "native companion".

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Kyogle Council area were the Bundjalung Aboriginal people.


European settlement dates from the 1830s, with land used initially for timber-getting. From the 1860s land was used more for dairy farming. The most significant growth took place during the early 1900s, spurred by improved access, expansion in the dairy farming industry and the establishment of numerous villages and small townships. The population of the Council area fluctuated from the 1960s, with the trend from the 1990s being one of slight decline.

Major Features

Major features of the Kyogle Council area include Border Ranges National Park, Mallanganee National Park, Mount Nothofagus National Park, Mount Pikapene National Park, Richmond Range National Park, Toonumbar National Park, Yabbra National Park, Toonumbar State Conservation Area, Moore Park Nature Reserve, various state forests, Bean Creek Falls Picnic Area, Kyogle Botanical Gardens, Toonumbar Dam, the Clarence River and the Richmond River.


The Kyogle Council area is served by the Bruxner Highway, The Summerland Way and the North Coast railway line.

Kyogle Council

economic profile