Sunshine Coast


The Sunshine Coast Council area encompasses a total land area of about 2,200 square kilometres, including significant beaches, coastline, waterways, national parks, state forests and bushland. The Council area is a rapidly growing residential and tourist area, with substantial rural, rural-residential and parkland areas. Much of the rural area is used for dairy farming, cattle grazing and crop growing. The Sunshine Coast Council area includes coastal urban centres and inland towns.

Map is temporarily unavailable. Check back soon.
loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Bruce Highway
  • Sunshine Coast Airport (Maroochydore Airport)
  • Sunshine Motorway
  • North Coast railway line


  • Brisbane CBD 100km
  • Brisbane Airport 100km
  • Port of Brisbane 100km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Beerwah (south of Beerwah Golf Club)
  • Bells Creek (north)
  • Buderim (north-east)
  • Caloundra West
  • Coolum Beach (north-west)
  • Kunda Park
  • Maroochydore (south-east and west)
  • Moffat Beach (west)
  • Warana (south-west)

Sunshine Coast Council

economic profile