Far North Queensland Regional Organisation of CouncilsEconomic profile
Skip to content

Far North Queensland Regional


The FNQROC (Far North Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils) Region is located in the northern-most part of Queensland. The Region encompasses a total land area of more than 317,000 square kilometres. The FNQROC Region includes significant areas of national park and state forest, rural areas and urban areas. The main urban centre is Cairns, with smaller urban areas in the townships of Atherton, Babinda, Cooktown, Gordonvale, Ingham, Innisfail, Karumba, Mareeba, Mossman, Normanton and Port Douglas. The Region is also home to numerous smaller townships and villages, and aboriginal communities at Hope Vale, Wujal Wujal and Yarrabah. Rural land is used largely for cattle grazing, sugar cane farming and banana growing, with some tropical fruit, vegetable, grain, tea and coffee growing and timber production. Fishing is also an important industry.

Key employment sectors in the FNQROC Region include health care, retail trade, accommodation and food services (tourism), education, construction, public administration and safety, and agriculture, forestry and fishing. The main health care facility in the Region is Cairns Hospital, with a smaller private hospital at Cairns Private Hospital, and public hospitals at Atherton, Gordonvale, Herberton, Innisfail, Mareeba, Normanton and Tully. Other health services include Multipurpose Health Services at Babinda, Cooktown and Mossman, Primary Health Centres at Chillagoe, Cow Bay, Croydon, Dimbulah, Forsayth, Georgetown, Gurriny Yeelamucka (Yarrabah), Hope Vale, Ingham, Malanda, Millaa Millaa, Ravenshoe and Wujal Wujal, and the Cairns Base of the Royal Flying Doctor Service. The main retail area in the Region is the Cairns CBD, including Cairns Central, Cairns Night Markets and Rusty’s Markets. Other significant retail centres include DFO Cairns, Orchid Plaza Cairns, Stockland Cairns, The Pier Cairns Shopping Centre, Mossman Town & Country Shopping Centre, Mt Sheridan Plaza, Piccones Supa IGA at Manoora, Raintrees Shopping Centre, Redlynch Central Shopping Centre, Smithfield Shopping Centre, Woree Plaza and Kuranda Markets. Retail areas are also located in the townships of Atherton, Cardwell, Cooktown, Daintree, Herberton, Innisfail, Kuranda, Malanda, Mareeba, Mission Beach, Normanton, Port Douglas and Tully. Tourism is an important industry, with the Region being home to world-heritage rainforests, coastal ranges, waterfalls, national parks, beaches, tropical islands and numerous resorts and attractions. Educational facilities are provided at TAFE Queensland North (Atherton, Cairns, Ingham, Innisfail and Normanton Campuses), James Cook University (Cairns Campus), Great Barrier Reef International Marine College, Cairns Business College and numerous primary and secondary schools.

Far North Queensland Regional

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Bruce Highway
  • Captain Cook Highway
  • Kennedy Highway
  • Mulligan Highway
  • Palmerston Highway
  • Port of Cairns
  • Cairns Airport
  • North Coast railway line
  • Gulflander, Savannahlander and Tilt trains
  • various small airports and harbours


  • Brisbane CBD 1,400-2,600km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Aeroglen (around Captain Cook Hwy)
  • Arriga (Tableland Mill)
  • Bungalow
  • Cairns North (north)
  • Craiglie (south-west)
  • Edmonton (north-east)
  • Goondi Bend (around Clifford Rd)
  • Gordonvale (Mulgrave Central Sugar Mill)
  • Ingham (south of the airport)
  • Karumba (along the riverbank)
  • Macknade (Macknade Sugar Mill)
  • Malanda (north of James St and east of Churchill Ave)
  • Manunda (along Anderson St)
  • Mareeba (around the junction of the railway lines)
  • Mossman (Mossman Central Mill)
  • Mossman (south)
  • Normanton (near the Norman River)
  • Portsmith
  • South Johnstone (South Johnstone Sugar Mill)
  • Stratford (east)
  • Tolga (Tolga industrial estate)
  • Tully (east of Bruce Hwy)
  • Tully (Tully Sugar Mill)
  • Victoria Plantation (Victoria Sugar Mill)
  • Woree (north)