Lithgow City Council


Lithgow City is located in the Central Tablelands of New South Wales. The City encompasses a total land area of about 4,550 square kilometres. Lithgow City is predominantly rural, with rural-residential and residential areas in several townships, and some industrial land use. Nearly two thirds of the City is national park or state forest. Settlement is based in the township of Lithgow, the smaller townships of Portland and Wallerawang, and numerous small villages. Rural land is used mainly for farming and grazing.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Castlereagh Highway
  • Great Western Highway
  • Main Western railway line


  • Sydney GPO 140km
  • Canberra GPO 280km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Blackmans Flat (Mount Piper Power Station)
  • Bowenfels (eastern section)
  • Corney Town (northern section)
  • Lithgow (west of Tony Luchetti Sportsground)
  • Lithgow (around Donald Street)
  • Oaky Park (south-western section)
  • Vale of Clwyd (north-eastern section)
  • Wallerawang (Wallerawang Power Station)

Lithgow City Council

economic profile