Wagga Wagga City


Wagga Wagga City is located in the Riverina region of southern New South Wales. The City encompasses a total land area of 4,886 square kilometres. Wagga Wagga City constitutes both rural and urban areas, with some commercial, industrial and military areas. Most of the population is located in the urban areas. The largest centre is central Wagga Wagga, followed by Kooringal and Lake Albert. Most residential growth is on the higher ground to the south of the city centre, with the only residential areas north of the Murrumbidgee River being North Wagga Wagga and Estella. Rural land is used mainly for wheat-growing, dairy farming, mixed farming and sheep grazing.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Hume Highway
  • Olympic Highway
  • Sturt Highway
  • Melbourne-Sydney railway line
  • Wagga Wagga Airport


  • Melbourne GPO 460km
  • Sydney GPO 450km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Bomen
  • East Wagga Wagga

Wagga Wagga City Council

economic profile