Inner West Council area

About the area

Key Statistics

Initial Note

Note: This profile applies to the boundaries of the Inner West Council as proclaimed on 12 May 2016. The Inner West Council incorporates the previous Ashfield Council, Leichhardt Council and Marrickville Council.


The Inner West Council area is located in the inner-western Sydney suburbs, about 4-10 kilometres west of the Sydney CBD. The Inner West Council area is bounded by the City of Canada Bay and the Parramatta River in the north, Port Jackson and the City of Sydney in the east, the Bayside Council area in the south-east, the City of Canterbury Bankstown in the south-west, and the Burwood Council area in the west.

Included Areas

The Inner West Council area includes the suburbs of Annandale (part), Ashbury (part), Ashfield, Balmain, Balmain East, Birchgrove, Camperdown (part), Croydon (part), Croydon Park (part), Dulwich Hill, Enmore, Haberfield, Hurlstone Park (part), Leichhardt, Lewisham, Lilyfield, Marrickville, Mascot (part), Newtown (part), Petersham, Rozelle, St Peters (part), Stanmore, Summer Hill, Sydenham and Tempe.

Land Use

The Inner West Council area is predominantly residential, with substantial industrial and commercial areas. The Council area encompasses a total land area of over 30 square kilometres.

Indigenous Meaning

The original inhabitants of the Inner West Council area were the Cadigal and Wangal Aboriginal people.


European settlement dates from the early 1790s when the first land grants were made. Land was used mainly for farming, with some timber-getting. Population was minimal until the 1850s, aided by land subdivision and the improved access brought about by the construction of the Sydney-Parramatta railway line. Significant residential and industrial growth occurred during the 1870s and 1880s, and again during the early 1900s and the interwar period. Expansion continued from the post-war years through to the late 1960s, aided by immigration and gentrification, with many houses demolished and replaced by flats and units. The population gradually declined during the 1970s and 1980s. The population continued to decline during the early 1990s, falling from about 163,000 in 1991 to about 159,000 in 1996. The population was then relatively stable for the next ten years, with growth from 2006, reaching a population of about 168,000 in 2011.

Major Features

Major features of the Council area include the Ashfield Town Centre, Ashfield Mall Shopping Centre, MarketPlace Leichhardt, Marrickville Metro Shopping Centre, Norton Plaza, the Darling Street, Marrickville Road, Norton Street and Parramatta Road commercial areas, Balmain Hospital, MetroRehab Hospital, The Sydney Private Hospital, Wesley Hospital Ashfield, Sydney College of the Arts - the University of Sydney (Rozelle Campus), Sydney TAFE (Petersham College and Design Centre Enmore), University of Tasmania (School of Medicine Rozelle Campus), Sydney Community College, Newington College, Trinity Grammar School, Italian Cultural Centre, Italian Forum, Sydney Bus Museum, Sydney Heritage Fleet, Glebe Island, Balmain Shipyard, White Bay Cruise Terminal, Annette Kellerman Aquatic Centre, Ashfield Aquatic Centre, Leichhardt Park Aquatic Centre, Dawn Fraser Baths, Marrickville Golf Club, Ashfield Park, Birchgrove Oval, Callan Park, Camperdown Park, Elkington Park, Enmore Park, Fraser Park, Henson Park, Leichhardt Oval, Marrickville Park, Petersham Park, Pioneers Memorial Park, Sydenham Green, Tempe Recreational Reserve, the Haberfield heritage conservation area, Harbour Circle Walk, The Bay Run and several wharves.


The Inner West Council area is served by the Princes Highway, Liverpool Road (Hume Highway), City West Link, Parramatta Road, the Bankstown, Illawarra and Inner West railway lines, and the Sydney Metro light rail.

Inner West Council

economic profile