Inner West Council area


The Inner West Council area is located in the inner-western suburbs of Sydney. The Council area encompasses a total land area of over 30 square kilometres. The Inner West Council area is predominantly residential, with substantial industrial and commercial areas.

loading animation

NOTE: The land use shown in the map is derived from ABS Mesh Block categories. Mesh Blocks broadly identify land use and are not designed to provide definitive land use. It is purely an indicator of the main planned land use for a Mesh Blocks. For more information please refer to ABS Mesh Block categories.

Transportation Networks

  • Princes Highway
  • Hume Highway (Liverpool Road)
  • City West Link
  • Parramatta Road
  • Bankstown, Illawarra & Inner West railway lines
  • Sydney Metro light rail
  • White Bay Cruise Terminal
  • various wharves


  • Sydney GPO 4-10km
  • Sydney Airport 2-10km
  • Port Botany 10-15km
  • Sydney Cove 5-10km

Major Industrial Precincts

  • Annandale (south-east)
  • Balmain (south-east)
  • Camperdown (north-west)
  • Leichhardt (several locations)
  • Lewisham (west of Old Canterbury Road and south of Longport Street)
  • Lilyfield (around City West Link)
  • Marrickville (several locations)
  • Petersham (several locations)
  • Rozelle (east)
  • St Peters (several locations)
  • Summer Hill (along Parramatta Road and Smith Street)
  • Sydenham (around the Princes Highway)
  • Tempe (south)

Inner West Council

economic profile